10 Healthier, Low-Sugar Candy Swaps To Satisfy Your Sweet Tooth
AIThis post was created with the assistance of artificial intelligence (AI).

TL;DR

Before you orderOffer from Amazon

Get baking supplies delivered free with Prime

  • Fast, free delivery on millions of items
  • Prime Video, Amazon Music and more included
  • Member-only deals all year
Start your free Prime trial Free trial for eligible customers · Cancel anytime
As an affiliate, we earn on qualifying purchases.

A Good Housekeeping guide recommends lower-sugar candy swaps, from fruit-based gummies to chocolate bars and chewy sweets. The excerpt lists nutrition details for seven products, but does not include enough information to identify all 10 items named in the headline.

Good Housekeeping has published a guide to 10 lower-sugar candy swaps, recommending products that include fruit-based gummies, chocolate treats and chewy sweets. The supplied excerpt gives product and nutrition information for seven picks, but does not identify the other three, so the full list cannot be confirmed from the material available here.

The recommendations span several kinds of treats. Solely fruit gummies are described as made with fruit and vitamin C, with no added sugar or artificial colors; a pouch has 6 grams of total sugar. The guide also recommends Pure Organic Layered Fruit Bars, which contain 4 grams of added sugar per bar, and says testers liked their firm, chewy texture.

Chocolate options include UNREAL candies, whose products use Fair Trade chocolate and contain no sugar alcohols, and peanut butter wafers with 3 grams of added sugar per piece. Good Housekeeping reports that testers liked the familiar flavors. For date-sweetened mini bars, the excerpt gives a per-bar figure of 3 grams of total sugar and no added sugar, alongside 6 grams of fiber for the Nutty variety.

The guide also includes SmartSweets, whose Sweet Fish pouch is listed at 3 grams of sugar and 13 grams of fiber, and Numa taffy, with 8 grams of total sugar and 7 grams of added sugar per two pieces. These figures apply to the stated serving sizes and products; nutrition can differ across varieties.

At a glance
reportWhen: Publication date not specified in the s…
The developmentGood Housekeeping published a consumer guide to 10 healthier, lower-sugar candy swaps, with product descriptions and nutrition details for several picks.

How the Swaps Change the Candy Choice

The guide gives shoppers options for comparing added sugar, total sugar, fiber and serving size while keeping familiar candy formats on the table. That distinction matters: a product with no added sugar can still contain naturally occurring sugars from fruit, as the listed Solely pouch illustrates with 6 grams of total sugar.

The figures also show why “lower sugar” does not mean nutritionally identical or suitable for every need. The UNREAL coconut bar has 3 grams of added sugar per bar, while the Numa taffy serving has 7 grams. Those are specific product and portion figures, not a comparison with every traditional candy. The guide offers a starting point for label reading, rather than evidence that any product produces a health benefit.

Products Worth Considering

Vitamix 5200 Professional-Grade Blender, 64 oz. Container, Black

Vitamix 5200 Professional-Grade Blender, 64 oz. Container, Black

Instant Pot InstantChill Ice Cream Maker with Rolled Ice Cream Cold Plate, 2-Pint

Instant Pot InstantChill Ice Cream Maker with Rolled Ice Cream Cold Plate, 2-Pint

As an affiliate, we earn on qualifying purchases.

What the Product Guide Covers

The source is a Good Housekeeping consumer report titled “10 Healthier, Low-Sugar Candy Swaps to Satisfy Your Sweet Tooth.” Its excerpt combines product descriptions, nutrition-panel figures and comments from staff or testers. Deputy Food Editor Trish Clasen Marsanisco is quoted on the taste and texture of a date-caramel bar; other testing comments describe the fruit gummies, chocolate candies and wafers.

The available text is incomplete. It names seven product types or brands with supporting details, but ends during a description of BEAR fruit snacks and does not provide the rest of that entry or the remaining picks. It also does not state the report’s publication date. The headline’s count of 10 is part of the supplied source title, while the full lineup is not verifiable from this excerpt.

““The date caramel layer is rich, decadent, and just the right amount of gooey.””

— Trish Clasen Marsanisco, Good Housekeeping deputy food editor

What the Excerpt Leaves Out

Three of the 10 headline picks are not identifiable in the supplied text, and the BEAR snack description is cut off. The excerpt does not provide a publication date, the full methodology behind product selection, or nutrition figures for every flavor and package size. Tester comments are individual reactions, not a guarantee that readers will share the same taste experience.

Product labels and formulations can change. Readers should check the current package for serving size, ingredients and nutrition information, particularly if they have allergies or dietary restrictions. The excerpt does not provide a complete allergen breakdown for the listed products.

Check Labels Before Choosing

Readers can compare the current package labels for serving size, added sugar and total sugar, then choose a portion that fits their needs. People considering high-fiber sweets should note the guide’s specific advice: its dietitians recommend no more than one bag of SmartSweets per day and suggest drinking plenty of water with the snack to support digestion.

The remaining product details and the complete 10-item lineup would need to be checked against the full Good Housekeeping report. Until then, the supplied excerpt supports comparisons among the products it names, but not a complete account of all 10 recommendations.

Key Questions

Does “no added sugar” mean a candy has no sugar?

No. Total sugar can include sugars naturally present in ingredients, such as fruit. The guide lists Solely gummies at 6 grams of total sugar and 0 grams of added sugar per pouch.

Which listed candy has the most fiber?

Among the nutrition figures in the excerpt, SmartSweets Sweet Fish has the most listed fiber at 13 grams per pouch. The guide advises limiting these high-fiber candies to one bag a day and drinking water with the snack.

Does the supplied source identify all 10 swaps?

No. The headline says there are 10, but the supplied excerpt provides identifiable details for seven picks and cuts off during the BEAR snack description. The remaining products cannot be confirmed from this text.

Are the tester comments evidence of health benefits?

No. The quoted comments describe individual opinions about taste and texture. The excerpt supplies nutrition-panel figures, but does not report clinical evidence that the products improve health.

Source: rss

You May Also Like

Bob Noto 2026: Vince Paolo Lopriore

Chef Paolo Lopriore has received the 2026 Bob Noto Award in Turin, with the jury recognizing his distinctive culinary vision and passion.

A Huge New Study Links More Ultra-Processed Food To Higher Disease Risk

An analysis of nearly 9 million people linked higher ultra-processed food intake with several chronic conditions and higher all-cause mortality.

This Bowl I Made Pleases Me

Interest in the phrase “I’m pleased with this bowl I made” is rising, but the image’s maker, origin and reason for attention are unconfirmed.

The “Home Branding” Boom Has Arrived, And It’s Surprisingly Charming

A social media trend encourages people to give their homes names and add a few personalized details, from embroidered towels to guest traditions.