TL;DR
Get baking supplies delivered free with Prime
- Fast, free delivery on millions of items
- Prime Video, Amazon Music and more included
- Member-only deals all year
Flowers Foods is recalling certain Nature’s Own Hawaiian Bread packages after finding that some did not list milk on the label. The 20-ounce and 40-ounce products were distributed to retail customers in Arkansas, Louisiana, New Mexico, Oklahoma and Texas; no related illnesses or incidents have been reported.
Flowers Foods Inc. is recalling certain Nature’s Own Hawaiian Bread in 20-ounce and 40-ounce packages because some packages did not declare milk as an ingredient. The bread was distributed to retail customers in Arkansas, Louisiana, New Mexico, Oklahoma and Texas, and people with a milk allergy or severe sensitivity could face an allergic reaction if they eat it.
The company initiated the recall after a review of production records found that certain packages of Nature’s Own 20-ounce Hawaiian Bread and the 40-ounce two-pack did not list milk on the ingredient label. The report does not say how many packages were affected or when the production-record review took place.
The 20-ounce loaf is identified by UPC 0 72250 91662 2. Its listed product codes are 0188 262, with times 20:06–22:05; 0188 265, 09:20–10:30; 0188 267, 04:50–06:00; 0188 270, 04:15–06:05; and 0188 272, 17:15–19:25. The associated “Best If Used By” dates run from October 8 through October 18, 2026, as reported by Food Safety News.
The 40-ounce two-pack has UPC 0 72250 00683 5. The report lists its product codes and “Best If Used By” information as not available. No related illnesses or incidents had been reported at the time of the report, published October 5.
Undeclared Milk Poses Allergy Risk
Milk is a major food allergen, so leaving it off an ingredient label can make a product unsafe for people who avoid milk because of an allergy or severe sensitivity. The risk described in the recall notice is an allergic reaction, which can be serious. A shopper checking the package for listed ingredients may not know that the recalled bread contains milk.
The report does not describe the severity or likelihood of a reaction from eating these particular products. It warns that affected consumers may be at risk, and says that allergic reaction or death is possible. That warning concerns people with a milk allergy or severe sensitivity; the report does not identify a general health risk for other consumers.
The distribution across five states gives the recall a regional reach beyond a single store or city. Retail customers in Arkansas, Louisiana, New Mexico, Oklahoma and Texas may have received the products. The available report does not identify specific retailers, so consumers cannot use a store name alone to determine whether a package is included.
Products Worth Considering

Vitamix 5200 Professional-Grade Blender, 64 oz. Container, Black

KitchenAid Artisan 5-Quart Tilt-Head Stand Mixer, Almond Cream

Le Creuset Enamemed Cast Iron Oval Dutch Oven, 5 qt., White/Crucible
As an affiliate, we earn on qualifying purchases.
How the Package Codes Identify Bread
Food recalls rely on package details to help consumers distinguish affected products from other items with the same brand name. Here, the report identifies two package sizes, provides UPC numbers for both, and gives production codes and date information for the 20-ounce loaf. It does not provide equivalent lot or date details for the 40-ounce two-pack.
The stated reason was a finding in Flowers Foods’ review of production records: some packages failed to declare milk. The source does not say whether milk was added in a recipe change, entered through a production error or omitted through a labeling problem. It also does not say whether other Nature’s Own products are affected. The recall information applies to the Hawaiian Bread packages named in the report.
Food Safety News published its report at 9:03 p.m. on October 5, 2026. It identifies Flowers Foods as the recalling company and states that no related illnesses or incidents had been reported “to date.” That status reflects the information available when the report was published and does not establish whether later reports have emerged.
“Certain packages of Nature’s Own 20-ounce Hawaiian Bread and Nature’s Own two-pack Hawaiian Bread 40-ounce did not declare milk as an ingredient.”
— Flowers Foods, as described by Food Safety News
Affected Quantities and Retailers Unknown
The report does not state how many packages were recalled, which retailers received them, or whether any remain on store shelves. It also gives no product codes or date range for the 40-ounce two-pack. Consumers with that package size therefore have only the UPC and product description in the report to compare with their bread.
It is not clear whether any additional distribution areas, illnesses or incidents have been reported since October 5. The report does not include instructions from Flowers Foods for returning or disposing of the bread, nor does it provide a company contact number or link to a recall notice. It also does not specify whether a particular ingredient or production change led to the milk being absent from the label.
Check Labels and Recall Updates
Consumers who may have purchased the named bread can compare the package size and UPC with the recall details, and, for 20-ounce loaves, check the listed product codes and “Best If Used By” dates. Anyone with a milk allergy or severe sensitivity should not eat a package matching the recall description. Because the report does not give handling or return instructions, consumers can check for updated information from Flowers Foods or relevant food-safety authorities.
The company or authorities may provide further details about affected quantities, stores and next steps. The source report does not give a date for another update or state whether the recall investigation is complete. Until further information is available, the confirmed scope remains the named 20-ounce and 40-ounce Nature’s Own Hawaiian Bread products distributed to retail customers in the five reported states.
Key Questions
Which bread is being recalled?
The recall covers certain Nature’s Own Hawaiian Bread packages: a 20-ounce loaf and a 40-ounce two-pack, according to the October 5 report.
Why was the bread recalled?
Flowers Foods said a review of production records found that certain packages did not declare milk as an ingredient. The report does not explain how the labeling omission occurred.
Where was the recalled bread distributed?
The products were distributed to retail customers in Arkansas, Louisiana, New Mexico, Oklahoma and Texas. Specific retailers were not named in the report.
Have any illnesses been reported?
No related illnesses or incidents had been reported as of the Food Safety News report published October 5, 2026. The report does not establish the status after that date.
How can I identify a 20-ounce package?
Check for UPC 0 72250 91662 2, one of the product codes listed in the recall, and a “Best If Used By” date from October 8 through October 18, 2026. The report lists no equivalent product-code or date details for the 40-ounce two-pack.
Source: rss
