TL;DR
Get baking supplies delivered free with Prime
- Fast, free delivery on millions of items
- Prime Video, Amazon Music and more included
- Member-only deals all year
Todd’s Seeds LLC is recalling 37,481 units of sprouting seeds that may contain Salmonella and/or E. coli, according to a recall notice reported by Food Safety News. The affected products were sold through Amazon and directly to consumers, and carry expiration dates of Dec. 31, 2029. The available report does not identify illnesses or provide the affected lot numbers.
Todd’s Seeds LLC is recalling 37,481 units of sprouting seeds because they may be contaminated with Salmonella and/or E. coli, Food Safety News reported October 2. The products were sold through Amazon and directly to consumers, and the recall affects multiple seed mixes and varieties with an expiration date of Dec. 31, 2029.
According to the recall notice described by Food Safety News, the affected products contain alfalfa seed recalled by a supplier. The notice says the seeds may be contaminated with E. coli and/or Salmonella; the report does not say that contamination has been confirmed in every recalled package. Todd’s Seeds is based in Cookeville, Tennessee.
The recalled product names are Todd’s Seeds Alfalfa Sprouting Seeds, Broccoli & Friends Sprouting Seed Mix, Sprouting Seed Mix, Salad Sprouting Mixture, Alfalfa & Mung Bundle, and Variety Pack. They were sold in packages of different weights. Food Safety News points readers to a lot-number list, but the source material provided for this report does not include the individual lot numbers.
The report does not state how many of the recalled units were sold through Amazon versus direct sales, when sales began or ended, or whether the company has received reports of illness. It also does not describe any laboratory findings. Consumers would need to compare product and lot details in the recall notice with packaging they have before determining whether a particular item is included.
Why Sprouting Seed Safety Matters
Salmonella and E. coli can cause foodborne illness, making a possible contamination issue relevant to anyone who bought or uses the affected seeds. The recall concerns sprouting products, which consumers may grow and eat, so checking product identification against the recall notice is a practical step even when illness reports or confirmed contamination have not been described.
The recall covers a substantial number of units—37,481 packages—and products distributed through both a major online marketplace and direct sales. That means purchasers may have ordered them through different channels and may need to check order histories as well as product labels. The source does not provide an estimate of how many households received the products.
The date printed on the packages is Dec. 31, 2029, but that date alone does not establish whether a package is part of the recall. Lot identification and the exact product name matter. The available source does not provide specific instructions for disposal, refunds, or contacting the seller, so consumers should consult the full recall notice for current directions rather than assume a remedy.
Products Worth Considering

Instant Pot Duo 6-Quart 7-in-1 Electric Pressure Cooker

Cuisinart Stainless Steel Bread Maker, 12 Programs, 2 lb Capacity

Vitamix Ascent X3 Professional-Grade Blender, 3 Programs, Shadow Black
As an affiliate, we earn on qualifying purchases.
Supplier Seed Triggered the Recall
The report attributes the recall to a supplier’s recall of alfalfa seed used in Todd’s Seeds products. The stated concern is possible contamination with Salmonella and/or E. coli. The source does not identify the supplier, explain why its seed was recalled, or give details about testing or the route by which the possible contamination was identified.
Six Todd’s Seeds product names are listed, including alfalfa-only products, mixed seed products and bundles. They came in a range of package weights and shared the listed expiration date of Dec. 31, 2029. Food Safety News reported the recall on October 2, 2026. No additional timeline for the company’s actions or the supplier’s recall is provided in the source material.
“The products contain alfalfa seed recalled by the supplier and may be contaminated with E. coli and/or Salmonella.”
— Recall notice, as summarized by Food Safety News
Illness Reports and Lot Details
The supplied report does not say whether anyone has become ill, whether any contamination has been confirmed in Todd’s Seeds products, or whether health authorities are investigating cases. It describes a potential contamination risk, not a confirmed finding in every package. The distinction matters: the recall is based on the possibility that affected seed may carry pathogens.
The individual lot numbers are not included in the source material here, despite the report referring readers to a list. The exact package weights, sales dates and quantities by product are also unavailable. It is not clear whether the company or authorities have issued further consumer instructions, such as how to dispose of products or seek a refund.
Check Packages Against Recall Notice
Consumers who bought any of the six named products should check the full recall notice and lot-number list against the product name, package and lot information. Purchases may be recorded in Amazon order histories or direct-sale records. The report provided here does not include a company contact, refund terms or handling directions, so readers should follow the instructions in the current official notice.
Further updates could clarify the affected lots, sales period, consumer remedy and whether illnesses or confirmed contamination have been reported. Until those details are available, the key confirmed information remains that 37,481 units are being recalled because of a possible risk associated with supplier-recalled alfalfa seed.
Key Questions
Which Todd’s Seeds products are included in the recall?
The listed products are Alfalfa Sprouting Seeds, Broccoli & Friends Sprouting Seed Mix, Sprouting Seed Mix, Salad Sprouting Mixture, Alfalfa & Mung Bundle, and Variety Pack. Check the recall notice for lot numbers before deciding whether a package is affected.
What is the contamination concern?
The products may be contaminated with Salmonella and/or E. coli, according to the recall notice summarized by Food Safety News. The report does not confirm contamination in every package.
Where were the recalled seeds sold?
They were sold through Amazon and directly to consumers. The report does not give the sales dates or say how many units were distributed through each channel.
Have illnesses been reported?
The source material does not state whether any illnesses have been reported. It also does not provide details of confirmed contamination or an investigation.
What should purchasers check?
Compare the package’s product name and lot number with the full recall notice. The products are described as having different package weights and a Dec. 31, 2029 expiration date, but that date by itself does not identify a recalled lot.
Source: rss
